31 Days of Theology

31 days bigTheology can seem scary. It’s not, though. Theology is just the study of God. (Don’t believe me? Theo is God. ology is study. Nailed it.)  Every time you read the Bible, you’re studying God, right? That’s a thing you do.  You’re doing theology. Knowing a couple of big words to succinctly describe these concepts isn’t going to hurt.

Even more, it might be important. Are we not commanded to love the Lord with all our mind? Love God with my heart, with my soul, love my neighbor. I hear those sermons a lot. Those sermons are good. Those sermons are inspiring. Those sermons are necessary. At least for me.

But what about my mind? Preaching to myself here, why do I shrink away from an intelligent assessment of the Bible? Why do I hesitate to do that, to turn to cross-references and infer and try to make sense of two apparently-opposed passages? Am I afraid of what I’ll find?

Maybe. Ick. Soul self-exams never end well, do they?

So for October, I’m going through a whole bunch of the “big ideas” and some fun ideas I just like (biblical self indulgence HAS to be better for me than chocolate), and I’m going to try to shine the light of scripture on them. Do the big ideas stand up to an honest, impartial viewing of scripture? Can they stand on their own merit? Time to start chewing on some spiritual food!

I hope that you’ll join me, and get neck-deep in Scripture chasing after Him!

  1. Sola Scriptura
  2. Being Bereans
  3. A History Lesson
  4. Justification
  5. Sola Gratia
  6. Sanctification
  7. Sola Fide
  8. Sola Christus
  9. Kenosis
  10. Sola Dei Gloria
  11. Trinity
  12. Incomprehensible 
  13. Depravity
  14. Election
  15. Unconditional Election
  16. Conditional Election
  17. Atonement
  18. Unlimited Atonement
  19. Grace
  20. Irresistible Grace
  21. Prevenient Grace
  22. Perseverance of the Saints
  23. Conditional Security
  24. Glorification
  25. Aseity
  26. Immutability
Published in: on September 30, 2013 at 3:07 pm  Comments (11)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://stringsandstories.wordpress.com/2013/09/30/theology/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love studying the Word. Theology doesn’t scare me it excites me!! I love Greek & Hebrew. Yep, I’m a nerd like that =)
    I look forward to reading over the next 31 days.
    Blessings ~~ dawn

    • Me too! I love the geeky part of God. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      – Strings

  2. Theology is fabulous! Looking forward to reading your thoughts.

    • It’s the best. 🙂 Studying who He is, always a good use of my time. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Theology doesn’t scare me…in fact, my graduate degree is theology. Oh the memories of seminary! I look forward to reading your blog!
    Blessings
    Penny

    • Thank you so much for stopping by, and I hope you enjoy it. 🙂

      – Strings, who is trying not to look intimidated

  4. Oooh! Excited to follow along with you!

  5. Another theology geek-girl popping in to say I’m really looking forward to your series!!


Leave a Reply

