Prevenient Grace

31 days big

Last but not least, prevenient grace! It is everything irresistible grace isn’t. Done.

No, I’m not leaving you like that.

Prevenient grace is like common grace++. It is available to all people, regardless of saved status, but it is (resistibly) salvific. Wait, what? Let’s back up. Prevenient means preceding in time or order. Thus, prevenient grace is the grace that is available to all people before they are saved that allows them to accept Jesus. However, unlike irresistible grace, people have the ability to accept Christ or not – prevenient grace is like leading a horse to water.

Common grace, by the way, is covered under prevenient grace. While some of the stuff common grace talks about, like divine providence, aren’t included, proponents of prevenient grace believe that it is what is responsible for things like your conscience and civil law and such. Following prevenient grace to the fullness of what it has to offer is what saves a person. Listening to your conscience is considered something of a beginning to that.

Verses to check out:

Phil 2:12-13 Therefore, my beloved, as you have always obeyed, so now, not only as in my presence but much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling, for it is God who works in you, both to will and to work for his good pleasure.

Titus 2:11 For the grace of God has appeared, bringing salvation for all people,

Jeremiah 31:3  the Lord appeared to him from far away. I have loved you with an everlasting love;     therefore I have continued my faithfulness to you.

John 16:7-11 Nevertheless, I tell you the truth: it is to your advantage that I go away, for if I do not go away, the Helper will not come to you. But if I go, I will send him to you. And when he comes, he will convict the world concerning sin and righteousness and judgment: concerning sin, because they do not believe in me; concerning righteousness, because I go to the Father, and you will see me no longer; concerning judgment, because the ruler of this world is judged.

Romans 2:4 Or do you presume on the riches of his kindness and forbearance and patience, not knowing that God’s kindness is meant to lead you to repentance?

Ezekiel 34:11 “For thus says the Lord God: Behold, I, I myself will search for my sheep and will seek them out.

1 John 4:19 We love because he first loved us.

So. Now you know about these graces. Pray, ask for wisdom and understanding, crack open your Bible and go for it!

– Strings

Published in: on October 24, 2013 at 5:46 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://stringsandstories.wordpress.com/2013/10/24/prevenient-grace/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] Prevenient Grace […]


Leave a Reply

