Gratitude

Today I am so grateful.

My family has been ridiculously sick. All the very worst kinds, too. But in the midst of it all, I am so grateful that I live here. Here in America, with a stocked medicine cabinet full of herbal and pharmaceutical remedies, and the knowledge of how and when to use them. If everything I have in my bag of tricks fails, there’s an ER 10 minutes away. I’ve never had a real worry that my child would die of a fever. Even when I am sick and my children are sick, I know that in a few days it will all be over but the laundry.

I am grateful for my husband, who did not succumb to illness until this morning. Yesterday, he was a superhero, cuddling the baby and bringing me water. It is the sort of thing he dismisses, but I can’t imagine doing it without him. I prayed for all the single parents, who have to get their children water and snuggle them when they are feeling awful.

So I don’t sound up to my usual self, I’m sure, but I hope you don’t mind. I’m still tired. Still a little achey if I sit and think about it, so I try not to and eat more toast.

– Strings

Published in: on November 7, 2013 at 8:18 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://stringsandstories.wordpress.com/2013/11/07/gratitude/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

